It’s the trifecta of awards nominations!

The news is official now, from the lips of George R.R. Martin and Dave McCarty: I am a nominee for not only the Hugo award, for best novelette, for my story, “Ray of Light,” I am also a nominee for the Campbell award for best new professional science fiction and fantasy writer. Honestly, considering how long I languished in the land of the unpublished, it’s quite shocking to see myself on these lists! Nebula, Hugo, and Campbell. All at the same time. I am told only a handful of writers have ever been on all three at once. (gulp) No pressure, right? My enormous thanks go out to all the readers and writers who chose to give me their vote of confidence this year. You had a very large, very deep field of writers from whom to choose. Many, many excellent stories. It’s humbling, heartening, and gratifying to know that I made the cut. I hope to do all of you proud, but win or lose and perhaps more importantly, I hope to continue producing material that is worthy of your support and capable of providing you with both satisfaction and enjoyment. Thank you, everybody!

Edit to add: the home page has been revamped, to include a web store for e-book versions of my material, including the award-nominee, “Ray of Light.” Click here to jump to the store! Lots of stories available for Kindle and Nook, including links to some of the anthologies I am featured in.

About Brad R. Torgersen

Science Fiction & Fantasy Author - Hugo, Nebula, and Campbell award nominee
This entry was posted in Victories & Success. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to It’s the trifecta of awards nominations!

  1. Madison Woods says:

    That must be incredibly exciting! And what a birthday week you are having.

  2. Yes! Most excellent news, sir! Happy birthday, indeed.

  3. Well deserved, Brad!

  4. Martin L. Shoemaker says:

    Very well deserved, Brad! If you pull it off, that will make you the third “triple crown” winner in history, I believe.

  5. Laurie Tom says:

    Congrats, Brad. You totally deserve it. :)

  6. You definitely worked hard enough to earn these noms. I’m very happy for you :)

  7. Congrats!!!! Such great news, and you deserve the nominations! (You’d better get the awards, too!)

  8. Cora says:

    Congratulations, Brad!

  9. dustinadams says:

    A hearty congo rats to you, sir!

  10. See, I told you it wasn’t a long shot. Super Congrats, Brad!!!

  11. Ben Godby says:

    Congrats, Brad! Very impressive to see your name in that list. Keep writin’ the good stuff!

  12. Congratulations, thrice!

  13. haloblazer says:

    Congrats, Brad.
    I remember following along your blog before Writers of the Future. Yay me! No. Yay you, Son of Torgersen. And yay Scalzi, the glacial spring that whets our deer palates. dear, beer, bear . . . struggling with dastardly homonyms and vowels tonight. Wretched beasts.
    From Seoul,
    Ronald

  14. haloblazer says:

    Congrats, Brad. I’ve been following you for a while, since the late 00s on Whatever. Well deserved, dear boy.

  15. Good Work, Fella! Thoroughly deserved.

  16. Martin Sust says:

    Hello Brad, I´m working as the foreign rights editor in the Czech SF/F magazine XB-1 and we are interested in some of your short stories. Please, contact me on my e-mail adress for more. Best, Martin.

  17. Thanks so much, everybody! I am enjoying my stint on the ballots this year. Win or lose, it’s very gratifying to be experiencing the signal boost provided. I am just happy the reader response has been so positive. Awards are one thing, but happy readers are the whole point of the operation.

Leave a Reply

