A step in the right direction

Having allowed my total number of submissions out on the market to dwindle down to three, I decided today to stick with Dean Wesley Smith and Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s advice that you have to keep a story out on the market. Regardless of what you may think of it. Until it sells, anyway. Or you die. Whichever comes first. (smirk)

I’ve actually got a good many more than three stories. Most of them date back years, and I don’t dare send any of them out until they’ve basically been re-done from scratch; something I might be inclined to do, having attended the Kris ‘n Dean Show, and gotten some of the best advice — much of it eye-opening in nature — I’ve ever gotten, as an aspirant.

Key item to remember? No such thing as re-writing a story into shape. If it fails with readers and editors, and you want to fix it, then don’t re-write the broken corpse of the story. Salvage whatever core idea(s) you can, that are valuable, including characters and motivations, and write an entirely new story.

I’ll have to see how easy it is to do this with some of the older stuff. I do have some trunk stories I really like, but which are so badly written I don’t dare release them back into the world until they’ve had some help.

Meanwhile, some of the newer stuff had been sitting too long, gathering dust. I opened the cage and beat ’em out into the air with a broom. Go, my lovelies. Go.

Total subs now out? Eight.

A step in the right direction.

4 thoughts on “A step in the right direction

  1. Hey, since copyright extends for – what is it now, seventy? – years after your death, why would you stop sending it out just because you’ve died? Oh, wait…

    Actually that’s not a silly as it sounds — any number of authors have had old manuscripts dug out of their files by their heirs and ultimately (perhaps after completion by another author) published, including Robert Heinlein and Frank Herbert. Of course it helps if you have a reputation like Heinlein’s or Herbert’s when you die. 😉

    Anyway, good for you Brad for getting those stories back in the race. I need to do the same.

  2. Hah! I can only hope my name is a Name by the time my kids or grandkids can take advantage of it, doing posthumous republications and such.

    Then again, why should they get free money from my toil? Let ’em work and suffer on their own fiction, by gawd! (smirk)

    Yeah, I need to ignore the Doubting Voice in my head that was very loud over the last 6 months. As stuff came back rejected, I couldn’t get myself to send it out again. Got discouraged, and probably spent too much time hoping with fingers crossed that my WOTF Finalist would come through.

    Obviously I karma’d myself in the you-know-what. This time, I intend to be tooling along with new stuff as I wait for word on Q2 and Q3.

  3. I have a rule – it’s a new one actually – but it’s a rule.

    Rejections are resent the same day.

    It’s kinda hard to stick to if you don’t get your mail until after the post office closes but even then you can resolve to prepare the package so that you can send it back out first thing tomorrow.

    Don’t go to sleep with a manuscript just laying there. 🙂

    Keep up the good work Brad.

    ~Anthony

  4. That’s actually a good rule, AWS. Thanks.

    It’s also another good reason to branch out a little, in terms of genre. If you’re working in multiple genres you have more market options. Once all the pro SF&F markets are filled, where do you go?

Comments are closed.