I purchased 3 books by Elizabeth Moon!

I’m a capitalist, so I believe in voting with my wallet. The furor over Elizabeth Moon’s harmless commentary has compelled me to (once again) put my money where my mouth is. I went down to the Barnes & Noble today and spent way too much cash on a stack of books — including three titles from Elizabeth Moon:

The Speed of Dark

Marque and Reprisal

Sheepfarmer’s Daughter

Literary near-term SF, military SF, and heroic fantasy. Seemed like a good sampling of Ms. Moon’s talents. I have heard nothing but good about her from lots of people I trust to know my tastes, and to know what they’re talking about. If nothing else, it’s a sharp poke in the eye to everyone who slagged Moon on her LiveJournal and threatened to not buy her.

Sometimes, as a consumer, you just have to stand up against punks.

Hooah, Ms. Moon. Looking forward to reading you.

9 thoughts on “I purchased 3 books by Elizabeth Moon!

  1. I read her post again and again, too, Brad, and as I argued with David Moles’ on his critical post about her, it is an opinion a lot of people share. And just because David Moles’ proclivity is to see the comments as racist doesn’t make the words themselves nor the intent of their author racist. I thought it was thoughtful and she made some good points. I think she could have been a bit more sensitive to some realities for Muslims, but she’s right. And the same special treatment these critics want for Muslims is not being extended to any other group. After all, it’s these same critics who label Christians as bigots along with anyone else who dares to not share their opinion. It’s a sad commentary on the state of our country, if you ask me. Freedom of speech and religion used to be something people respected for everyone. Now it’s just those they agree with.

    There are people ready to let Muslims build a community center near Ground Zero, while a Greek Orthodox congregation is not being allowed to rebuild their church which was already there but destroyed in the attacks. How is that not unfair bias of one group over another?

    People have become like sheep. No critical thinking. Whatever the media and pundits say. And it’s ridiculous. Freedom of speech and freedom of religion were once high values in this country. You may not agree with what was said or the religion, but you damn well respected people’s right to think it and worship it. Not any more. Now, if you don’t agree with them, you’re a bigot and villain. Both sides are guilty of this to some degree, but I see more of it coming from the Left. It’s scary. We could lose so much. Maybe we already have.

  2. I wasn’t planning to read anything by her nor do I ever plan to. I read Simmons but will not read him any more but in my defense, I stopped reading Ilium because it sucked Donkey’s Kong, and not because of any sentiments towards Muslims. Also, Endymion made me uncomfortable..

  3. I have to admit, I always find it strange that so many people can’t or won’t read the fiction of an author they find politically different from themselves. If I stopped reading fiction by every author who had different politics from me, or stopped listening to music by people with different politics from me, or stopped watching movies starring actors with different politics from me, I’d have very little entertainment media left with which to amuse myself. Besides, I tend to believe that once a piece of art leaves the hands of the artist, it almost becomes its own thing — separated from its creator. Like a child that has grown and left the house of its parents. Shunning the child due to the sins of the parents seems… immature.

  4. Hmmm, that does seem somewhat problematic, although our modern notions of adulthood and childhood are just that — modern. Kids had to grow up mighty quick back in the bad old days. We used to send drummer boys to get shot and killed right alongside the grown men. By modern standards, a 12 year old having sex is basically molestation or rape. By ancient standards…. they didn’t have any standards. Is this Raul character living in an ancient or otherwise “other world” environment?

  5. Sheepfarmer’s Daughter is the first book in the Paksenarrion series. Trust me, you’ll want book 2 and 3, and to read them together (don’t finish book 2 without having book 3 at hand or you’ll be super sad, trust me) 🙂 I always buy the omnibus version for this reason.

    The Vatta books are great, too. Hell, I’ve always loved everything I’ve read by her.

  6. It’s been my experience that people who leave angry comments on anonymous message boards aren’t exactly the most voracious readers, anyways. I doubt she’ll lose too much business from them. Now, the people who leave well-thought out comments on anonymous message boards…well, I’ll let someone else organize that unicorn hunt.

    Good fiction is good fiction, regardless of the author’s politics. Which I’ll ignore anyways until the biography comes out.

  7. I thought The Speed of Dark was great, and quite out of the usual way – both for a science-fiction novel, and for Elizabeth Moon’s general run of novels. I wanted to re-read it before this came up, and I still do.

    I tried to read The Deed of Paksenarrion – this was years ago – and got bogged down in the first volume, which is the one you’ve just bought. Couldn’t finish it. (I do usually try to struggle on to finish the book once i started it, but I found when I put it down I didn’t care about the hero, so, well. I often find I only like a writer’s science-fiction and not her fantasy.)

    Marque and Reprisal is in the Vatta’s War series? I had literally just finished the first book in that series when I read Elizabeth Moon’s Islamophobic post, and I enjoyed it on first reading much as I did always enjoy Moon’s space opera novels. Then this blew up, and I re-read it, and re-read a couple of her other novels I had kicking about the house, and my first response to her thing about Park 51 was based on what I had just discovered about her political thinking: On reading Vatta’s War in the light from Park 51.

    I have to admit, I always find it strange that so many people can’t or won’t read the fiction of an author they find politically different from themselves.

    Oh, I agree to that. A good story is a good story.

    But it is complicated: when you find out what a writer thinks/feels as a person, when you see how their politics inform their writing? I know Orson Scott Card is a good writer. But I also perceive how his personal hatreds inform and permeate his writing now – which I didn’t, until he began his actively political blogging – and I am one of the people he hates.

    I still think (and I very much want to re-read it to find out) that Speed of Dark will stand up as something worth reading despite what I now know about Moon. But being aware how aristocracy and privilege informs her space operas, and that she believes in the principle of aristocracy and privilege in real life, may affect my wholehearted enjoyment of her regular space-opera writing – and I have enjoyed her space operas in the past.

  8. I’m planning on giving Speed of Dark a try. Since Racefail 09, I’ve been making a point of reading books that have been damned for being racist, because independent thought is in danger in that community. I’ve only read two or three, but so far, they’ve been decent books and, oh, not racist. (The Education of Little Tree, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, and at least one other that’s escaping me just now.)

Comments are closed.