Got my third contract from Dell Magazines today

I’ve said it before in other forums today: had someone walked up to me on November 4, 2009, and told me that by November 4, 2010, I’d not only be a Writers of the Future author, but a three-time selling author for Analog Science Fiction & Fact, I’d have told them they were smoking something. Nevertheless, here it is. “The Bullfrog Radio Astronomy Project” looks like it will net me a nice check, which should arrive roughly around Christmas — a welcome influx for the household budget! And a nice present from Dr. Stanley Schmidt, too.

Heck, I can’t say thank you enough to Dr. Stan for giving me such a great year. Most Writers of the Future winners have to hack at it a bit more, before they advance to their second, truly pro-vs-pro sale. Me? I’ve had three base hits in several tries at bat with Analog in 2010, and it’s been one heck of a pleasant surprise after so many years of struggling down in the aspirant pool. The wait has definitely made the successes more savory, so as much as I wish I’d done certain things much sooner, having these victories now is as gratifying as anything I’ve ever done in my life.

Which reminds me, one of the reasons I’ve not been able to get the new Emancipated Worlds chapters out as quickly as I’d like, is because I’ve had to split time on that project, and my other projects going out the door — projects which pay. Perhaps I will put up a PayPal tip jar on my EWS posts starting in 2011, just to see if anyone wants to lob in a few bucks? Because the honest truth is, my capitalist conscience nags at me when I feel I am spending too much time on something like EWS — when manuscripts for magazines like Analog seem to be yielding so much dinero right now.

No worries, the EWS chapters will keep flowing. And I am sorry for being late with this batch for the week. I’m clawing at it. Just wanted to toot a little about some bona fide cash on the barrelhead, and thank Stan, Analog, Claire with Dell Magazines, Trevor Quachri, and of course Writers of the Future and all who participate in it for getting me off the ground. 2010 has been a damned fine year for me. Damned fine.

16 thoughts on “Got my third contract from Dell Magazines today

  1. I say go with the tip jar, Brad. Like any pro (and you are one ) you need to get paid for your work. The EW Saga is great but if it takes you away from paying work, you need some sort of compensation. So I say add the tip jar. Those who like it will tip, those who don’t don’t have to.

  2. Many congrats to you, my talented friend. You deserve every moment of success.

    One thought – should Emancipated Worlds have its own website? I guess it would be easy enough to xpost the chapters here for folks following it via your blog.

  3. First: Congratulations on all your success this past year. You must be on cloud-9.

    Second: Tip jar.

    Third: I second the vote for a special website — or at least a new page for it.

  4. I will probably begin in 2011, when I have enough chapters up to justify sustained interest from readers. But thanks for the encouragement Steve. Much appreciated.

  5. I will probably export the chapters to .pdf and load them to a static page, and then once the entire first book is complete, I’ll export a second time to the e-reader platforms. Thanks, Jason, hope all is well with you and the family down south.

  6. See the comments above. And yes, I am very much on Cloud 9, to be sure. It’s nice to finally be selling, and to such a great venue too! I always wanted to break into the “top” tier, and now that I’m there, I’m trying to make the most of it.

  7. Sort of. Basically, when you have a large project for which you need a certain amount of money (either seed money, or that’s just what it’s worth to you to spend the opportunity cost) you go to Kickstarter, set up a project and say basically, “If I get $1000 by this date, I will do this project.” Generally there are small rewards offered to people who donate certain minimum amounts of money: an acknowledgement, a signed copy, a Tuckerization. A number of people offer to fly out and visit anyone who ponies up a grand or two.

    It’s more common for indie movies or video games, which have a number of costs associated with getting them off the ground, but it’s not unknown for novels. I can think of at least one case where the person involved was basically asking for a few months’ salary so he could quit his day job and focus on his creative work for a little while.

  8. Oh, the other thing is that if the minimum requested is not pledged by the date specified, nothing happens — the project is not funded at all. That way, if I come in an pledge $20 toward your $1000 or whatever, I only pay the $20 if enough other people join in to put the total over the top. That way the project either receives sufficient funding or none at all, there’s none of that awkwardness of trying to make do with a third of what you need.

  9. Good on ya, Brad! It’s always greating hearing about the feast when writers go through more than their share of famine on the slushing end of the equation.

  10. You might consider submitting your story once it’s done to not only publishers, but it’d make a hell of a movie and an even better video game.

    Bungie isn’t doing Halo anymore…. Just sayin.

Comments are closed.