My LTUE schedule for February 2011

This will be my third time attending Brigham Young University’s Life, The Universe & Everything symposium in February, 2011. It will also be my second time as a panelist. For this year, I’m on four panels:

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 17 – 3:00 PM
– Slush Piles and what not to do when submitting your writing.
(Ami Chopine, Lisa Mangum, Brad R. Torgersen, James Dashner)

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 18 – 2:00 PM
– Characters’ morals/theology vs. authors’ morals/theology.
(Aleta Clegg, Dan Wells, Tracy Hickman, Brad R. Torgersen, James Dashner)

SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 19 – 9:00 AM
– What I wish I had done, if I could do it all over again – A Guide to New Writers.
(Lisa Mangum, L. E. Modesitt, Jr., Brad R. Torgersen, Kathleen Dalton-Woodbury)

SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 20 – 12:00 PM (noon)
– Military on Military SF.
(Lee Allred, L. E. Modesitt, Jr., Roger White, Brad R. Torgersen)

Wow, I’ll be sitting with some very experienced, bestselling company on some of those panels. I am glad they’re doing the Military panel again, as I think there is a ton of curiosity on the part of writers about how to write about the military, military people, or military scenarios when doing science fiction. All four of us on that panel are either current or prior service, so please drop in if you want to ask questions. Last year’s panel was very well attended, and I hope to see more of the same for this year.

For details about the symposium, please see the LTUE web site. They’re doing it in a new building this year, with better parking. I believe students — of any sort, from any school — still get free admission. Otherwise, weekend price for all three days is $20. Having done numerous workshops, conventions, seminars, and so forth, I think LTUE is outstanding for writers and artists interested in getting into the industry — not to mention fans who want to come out and meet the (many, many) writers and artists working at various levels in the Utah creative community.

ETA, new data from Marny Parkin of LTUE:

There have been some questions about the rates and who qualifies.

The deadline for the pre-registration rate is January 28.

Student rates (free) are available to ANY student with a current ID card–UVU, UofU, SUU, high school, jr. high, etc. (not just BYU students). If you home school, bring in the signed documentation from your school district to qualify.

Banquet tickets are limited, so if you want to attend the banquet get your order in quickly. We hope to have the Web site adjusted to allow banquet-only purchases soon (or you can just call).

Single day rates are $10. If you would like to purchase more than one single-day membership, go back through the check-out page and order another.

Visit ltue.org for general information, or you can go directly to the registration page.

We hope to see you there!

7 thoughts on “My LTUE schedule for February 2011

  1. Nick, I think this year’s panels and panelists are rather good. But then, this has been my impression for the past three years. LTUE has become my favorite local event, for writing and writers. Please attend if you can, and be sure to poke me and say hello.

  2. I’m so excited I’m coming to LTUE! I wanted to go last year but some things came up.

    I’ll definitely be at the Military SF panel.

  3. Moose, be sure to come up and tap me on the arm and say, “Hi, I am moose from the blog!” As I’ve noted above, LTUE is a good symposium. When I came back to Utah from Washington State, LTUE was the first local event I did, and it knocked my socks off.

  4. Will do. I’ll probably wear a name tag that says AKA Moose1942. 😛

    Oh my heck I just went through the schedule. I don’t know when I’m going to go eat. I guess I’ll have to carry a stash of powerbars. and a camelback. LOL.

Comments are closed.