WotF 27 awards to be webcast LIVE!

As with last year, this year’s Writers of the Future awards ceremony is going to be webcast live from the Writers of the Future web site.


Tune in Sunday night, May 15, 2011 at 6 PM Pacific time to watch the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest celebrate it’s 27th year. All of the 12 writer winners and all of the 12 illustrator winners from the vol. XXVII book will be accepting their awards, live from the ballroom of the famed Roosevelt Hotel on Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles, California. Present will be a who’s who of Contest judges from across the United States and around the world, including Dave Wolverton, Kevin J. Anderson, Robert J. Sawyer, Mike Resnick, Eric Flint, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Jerry Pournelle, Gregory Benford, Yoji Kondo, Rebecca Moesta, Tim Powers, K.D. Wentworth, Vincent Di Fate, Cliff Nielson, Stephen Hickman, Val Lakey Lindahn, and Ron Lindahn.

This is science fiction and fantasy’s premiere coming out party for some the latest, hottest talent in both writing and illustration. Every year the Contest showcases the top rising names in the field, many of whom go on to be some of the top professionals in the field — including returning as judges for the event.


6 thoughts on “WotF 27 awards to be webcast LIVE!

  1. Hey Brad,
    You rock! I wanted to express my gratitude for helping out us 27s by discussing your experiences with WOTF and your writing career since winning number 26. You coming all the way to Hollywood to help us out is above and beyond the call! Thank you.

  2. This might be a dumb question, but how are there 12 winners? I know there’s 1st, 2nd, 3rd place–are the finalists also attending?

  3. It was my pleasure, Brennan! I was proud and happy to see you get your award from our Writer Dad, Mike Resnick! Moments like that are worth more than the money, and that’s saying something because the money is damned good. It was great seeing you and the other winner leave your hearts on the table, you guys really did an awesome job. It was fantastic.

  4. Charlie, they do three winners per quarter, so that’s 12 total. This year for #27 they had 13 people because for the first time in several volumes they did a published finalist story, which was John Arkwright’s.

Comments are closed.