“The Chaplain’s Assistant” now available in the September 2011 issue of Analog magazine!

It seems my stories always come out in Analog magazine when I am away on a trip. Last time I appeared in Analog’s pages, I was in Los Angeles for the Writers of the Future workshop. This time, I was doing 30+ days of Army duty at lovely Fort Dix, New Jersey. Nevertheless, I am proud to announce that my short science fiction story, “The Chaplain’s Assistant,” is currently in the September 2011 issue of Analog Science Fiction and Fact.

If you haven’t gotten your paper copy via mail yet, it should be on store shelves very soon. Or you can go grab an Analog e-scription via Amazon Kindle or Barnes & Noble Nook.

Several people have already written me mail about this story, a couple of them asking me where they can find more. For those who want to browse through some of my previous stories, I invite you to take a look at some of the items below — especially my AnLab Readers’ Choice award winner, from Analog’s November 2010 issue. Many of these have been available via Kindle for over a month, but they’re also available via Nook as well. Each story or novelette is only 99 cents!


Buy via Barnes & Noble Nook or Amazon Kindle


Buy via Barnes & Noble Nook or Amazon.com Kindle


(Crime fiction)
Buy via Barnes & Noble Nook or Amazon.com Kindle


(Fantasy fiction)
Buy via Barnes & Noble Nook or Amazon.com Kindle


(Fantasy fiction)
Buy via Barnes & Noble Nook or Amazon Kindle

I also have my story, “Exiles of Eden,” available in Issue 22 of Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show. October’s Analog should have my story, “The Bullfrog Radio Astronomy Project,” and then the year in Analog will wrap up with my (cover story!) novelette, “Ray of Light.”

7 thoughts on ““The Chaplain’s Assistant” now available in the September 2011 issue of Analog magazine!

  1. Dude, way to go! Looks like I’ll be buying several copies of Analog in the near future. =) And congrats on the cover story.

  2. I got a subscription to IGMS to read ‘Exiles of Eden’, it is awesome to the most of the back issues comes with a year subscription, and they can all be sent directly to my kindle – that was a nice surprise!

  3. Thanks Al. And yes, in fact, I have been mulling over a sequel, as one seems almost automatic, given how this story ended. There’s a lot of room for additional exposition, given what’s been laid out. I am almost certain I will return to this setting again, just not sure in what form yet.

  4. I think that’s one of the really genius things about IGMS — when you subscribe, you have instant access to most of the issues that have been previously published, so it’s like getting many subscriptions in one, easy payment. Thanks for signing up, on behalf of those of us who publish in Scott Card’s fine venue.

Comments are closed.