Lucky 13

I still need to do a wrap-up on WorldCon. Suffice to say it went far, far, far better than I could have planned, for professional reasons I can’t be explicit about at this moment. Hopefully, in the fullness of time…. (grin)

But I can talk about the Campbell Award, which is given out each year at WorldCon — alongside the venerable Hugo award — for the best ‘new’ professional writer in the skiffy business. My roommate Larry Correia was up for it, as was our mutual friend Dan Wells. Looking at the numbers it seems Dan and Larry did in fact split the vote, as many of us who were rooting them had feared.

The surprise (for me) was that I’d even placed in the initial nomination ranking. 13 people voted to say that they thought I was the best new professional writer in fantasy and science fiction in 2010. That’s quite remarkable, given the fact I had only two professional publication credits for last year, and was absolutely unknown outside of my small circle of friends. Thank you, my Lucky 13, for casting in my favor. I hugely appreciate it. And though I didn’t make the final ballot, I’m encouraged that people want to see me stick around. Muchas gracias!

ETA: according to the rules, I am still eligible for 2011, as a 2nd-year pro. It will be interesting to see if I’ve got any more traction as a sophomore?

8 thoughts on “Lucky 13

  1. I see you will be featured as the cover author of the December “Analog.” Good going! I’m looking forward to reading the new story.

  2. Yes indeed, Al. I hope you enjoy. It was a very pleasing story to write. That it got me the front page and an Eggleton cover, well, magic can and does happen. (grin)

  3. Congrats Brad, that’s probably 12 more than I got. 😉 Pushing out a bunch of stories helps. But don’t strain yourself. In fact, sit back and take it easy. I’ll make sure Stan has enough stories for Analog next year. (Grin – jk)

  4. I’d like to see some stats, but from raw eyeballing, yes it does seem like the second-year people tend to win more than the first-year people. I suspect first-year winners really have to make a major splash of some sort, which usually means a book. Or they have to be ‘poachers’ who already have high visibility from existing success outside the genre, who then swoop in and claim the award. I sort of think this is unfair to new writers who have labored exclusively in Science Fiction and Fantasy. If ever I’m in a position to change the rules, this would be the one rule I’d change. No poaching. If you already have a career from fiction sold beyond SF or F, and it began more than two years ago, you can’t be on the Campbell ballot.

  5. No way dude, now that I have a green light with Stan, he’s getting a new story every 45 days like clockwork. Of course, if we find collaboration to be to our liking, we could wind up killing two birds with one stone. I’m excited to work on our first one. Should be fun. And hopefully Stan likes it too.

Comments are closed.