“The Curse of Sally Tincakes” gets lead spot in IGMS issue 28

About 10 days ago I had a rather significant nerdgasm when editor Edmund Schubert let me know I was going to get the cover of Issue 28, Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show. Having the lead spot in the issue is honor enough, but when I saw Nick Greenwood‘s astounding piece of artwork, I knew this wasn’t just an honor. It was an experience I could treasure for the rest of my writerly life.

Why? Because I spent most of my childhood working in visual arts mediums, even more than the written arts. I was pretty good with pencils, and I knew my way around charcoals, and even tried my hand at oil paints. I know how tough it is to do good work — especially in vivid color — so when I see my story translated into something like what Nick’s created above… the level of gratification is astounding. I literally don’t have sufficient words to describe how wonderful it is seeing my story rendered in this fashion. Especially since Nick appears to have been channeling me so completely! Wow. That image is my story. In every detail. As if Nick had a window into my soul at the time I wrote the piece, and parsed out the most vivid images and layered them into his own work.

Terrific. Exceptional. Oustanding.

So big, big, big thanks to Nick, and to Scott Roberts and the rest of the assistant editor team at IGMS who agreed to pass my story up to chief editor Edmund Schubert, and to Edmund for being patient with me during re-writes.

I hope the readers of IGMS like the story. It’s the fraternal twin of my Hugo and Nebula nominated story, “Ray of Light.” I wrote both stories for the February 2011 workshop that Dean Wesley Smith and Kristine Kathryn Rusch hosted, with editors Denise Little and John Helfers. It’s a gas seeing both of those stories on the covers of two of English science fiction’s most prominent publications.

4 thoughts on ““The Curse of Sally Tincakes” gets lead spot in IGMS issue 28

  1. Whoa! That’s just gorgeous! Big-time congratulations, Brad. That’s one of the finest illustrations I’ve ever seen, and more than a tad, dare I say . . . Tron-ish. Incredible work.

Comments are closed.