Noxious people, noxious weeds

Thought, as I dug around in my garden tonight: noxious people are like noxious weeds. Noxious people need sycophants (soil) and social media outlets (sunshine) and attention (water) to thrive. Take away one or more of these things, and the “weeds” will wither and die. Or at least cease to be a problem. In the past I’ve tended to water the weeds. I very much enjoy a good internet brawl with people I think are “weedy” in behavior. Especially folks who are noxious towards my friends, or other professionals I like or admire. But this year? Nope. I’m not going to do it. I’m not going to let the weeds be my focus. This year I’m growing my garden — making beautiful veggies for myself and my family. The weeds? Let the soil stay dry long enough, and they’re easily unearthed, then stacked in a heap, and burned.

8 thoughts on “Noxious people, noxious weeds

  1. Good for you, Brad. It’s amazing how much energy is expended when fighting off the weeds. Before you know it, you don’t have any left for the cherry tomatoes and squash. 🙂

  2. That’s interesting, Lee. I haven’t seen any of those in my garden or my back yard this year, but I do see them around. Often in the most unpromising soil. Hmmmm…..

  3. Sometimes weeds have unexpected consequences, like pointing me back to your work, which I remember liking (i.e. The Curse of Sally Tincakes), and thinking I should buy something. All I can buy right now though is the novella? Is that right?

  4. I may not agree with everything you write, but man, you can write. Don’t ever let those negative voices tell you otherwise.. I look forward to reading your stories whenever my copy of analog arrives in the post. So don’t worry about the weeds too much… ,(I use plant antagonists to fight them off my own darn self), and keep writing… Here’s hoping the veggies turn out as goo as the stories!
    Respectfully entertained…
    L.E. Phant

  5. Thanks for the compliment, L.E. I am especially glad to learn of an Analog reader’s opinions on my work, since I esteem Analog and its readership. Recently, Baen Books made an offer on my novel The Chaplain’s War which encompasses both “The Chaplain’s Assistant” and “The Chaplain’s Legacy” which appeared previously in Analog. My next story due out in the magazine is called “Life Flight” and I hope people like it.

Comments are closed.