Panel schedule for 2014 SLC Comic Con FanX

Salt Lake City’s inaugural Comic Con in 2013 totally blew the doors off the Utah genre scene. Looks like the con organizers are doubling down on awesome for 2014, and have an amazing roster of celebrities returning for the FanX (Fan Experience) convention happening at the Salt Palace this weekend.

I’ll be doing panels as part of the FanX writer track. And when I am not doing panels, I will be over at Kevin J. Anderson’s Wordfire book table signing copies of Lights in the Deep and being available for chit chat. Do please drop by and say hello. And if you haven’t picked up a copy of the book yet, this weekend is a good time to grab one!

THURSDAY
2:00 pm: Religion in Science Fiction and Fantasy.
7:00 pm: How Not to be a “Red Shirt” Author: Veteran Writers Offer their best Advice for Surviving the Publishing World.

FRIDAY
10:00 am: Character Creation in Science Fiction & Fantasy for Writers.
11:00 am: The Future of Science Fiction and Fantasy in a Post-Twilight, Post-Potter World.

SATURDAY
2:00 pm: Top Things to Do and Not to Do as an Aspiring Writer.
4:00 pm: Self-Publishing, Indie Publishing and Traditional Publishing: Which One is Right for You?
7:00 pm: World Building for Dystopian, Utopian and Apocalyptic Futures: How to Do it Right.

4 thoughts on “Panel schedule for 2014 SLC Comic Con FanX

  1. I am having the best time at #SLCC! I got press pass credentials, this go-round, so it has doubled my FANXperience in more-ways, than I ever thought possible. I’ve met Gov. Herbert, Dan Farr and Bryan Brandenberg, some of my favorite authors (Peter David and Kevin J. Anderson), comics artist Joe Corroney; as-well-as, meeting many more. I’ve been able to get into the panels of Nick Gillard, Karl Urban and Billy Dee Williams (whom, replied to a Tweet I put out, earlier). I’ve been able to fulfill a dream, of sorts, and – I can’t wait to take-on tomorrow.

  2. Admittedly, I had never heard of you before I got the chance to meet you at the Salt Lake FanX. (I was waiting to get a Kevin Anderson book signed.) I’m glad I got that chance, and that you were able to talk me into picking up one of your books. So far, I’ve had time to read “Outbound,” “Gemini 17,” and “Bullfrog,” and I wanted to let you know how much I’ve enjoyed them. It’s been a long time since I’ve become so interested in characters in so few pages. Thank you for renewing my love of short science fiction! I can’t wait to read the rest!

  3. Congratulations on your Hugo nominations. Two in one year. Hard to top that. Hope you win both.

Comments are closed.