The will to work the struggle of America

If ever anyone asks me what it means to salute the Stars and Stripes, this piece (starring actor Geoffrey Lewis) is how I respond.

Because It’s not about Republican or Democrat; these things are not America. It’s also not about a specific physical location; the American Experiment raises its banner in every part of the globe. Nor is it about conservatives or liberals, libertarians or progressives; these are merely labels for ideologies that morph over time, until they are almost unrecognizeable from one era to the next.

It’s about a single idea: that people are created free. And that this freedom is worth both blood and treasure; the necessary investments to ensure that liberty is not extinguished from the face of the earth.

“The will to work the struggle of America,” indeed.

Sweating. Pushing. Bleeding. Dust on our brows. Two steps forward, one step back. Warts and all.

Do you need your friends and relatives to be perfect, in order to love them?

No. You love them because they’re worth it.

That’s exactly how I feel about the United States.

7 thoughts on “The will to work the struggle of America

  1. Thank you for finding this, Brad! It’s very stirring and fun to listen to. The images in my mind whipped past as fast as a dust blown tumbleweed on a dry riverbed in Roswell, New Mexico.

  2. I’m not an American, but I appreciate the sentiment. Patriotism isn’t a dirty word.

  3. Thank you, Sir. You’ve captured it perfectly. Like Mr. Chupik, I’m not American; I’m one of your neighbours to the north. I love my country, though I am not blind to its faults. That doesn’t make it any the less worth being loved. God bless your nation and mine.

  4. Chupik & Underhill: I work with a lot of Brit officers and NCOs on my current deployment. They seem to share your sentiment, which is shared in kind with me. Hooah to them, and hooah to you, sirs!

Comments are closed.